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Instructions for Application for Certification to Make 

Designated Classification Placements 
(Please Read These Instructions Carefully) 

 

 

Temporary Help Service Firm:  
A temporary help service firm means any person who operates a business which consists of employing 
individuals directly or indirectly for the purpose of assigning the employed individuals to assist the firm’s 
customers in the handling of the customers’ temporary, excess or special workloads, and who, in addition to 
the payment of wages or salaries to the employed individuals, pays Federal social security taxes and State 
and Federal unemployment insurance; carries workers’ compensation insurance as required by state law; and 
sustains responsibility for the actions of the employed individuals while they render services to the firm’s 
customers. 

 
Designated Classification Placement: 
A designated classification placement (“DCP”) means an assignment of a temporary laborer by a temporary 
help service firm to perform work in any of the following occupational categories as designated by the Bureau 
of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor: 33-90000 Other Protective Service Workers; 
35-0000 Food Preparation and Serving Related Occupations; 37-0000 Building and Grounds Cleaning and 
Maintenance Occupations; 39-0000 Personal Care and Service Occupations; 47-2060 Construction Laborers; 
47-30000 Helpers, Construction Trades; 49-0000 Installation, Maintenance, and Repair Occupations; 51-
0000 Production Occupations; 53-0000 Transportation and Material Moving Occupations; or any successor 
categories as the Bureau of Labor Statistics may designate. 

 

Registration Process: 
You must be registered as a temporary help service firm, or hold a license or registration that authorizes the 
placement of temporary laborers, in order to obtain certification to make DCPs. Each secondary location/ 
branch office must submit a separate application for certification to make DCPs. 
 
Each application for certification to make DCPs must include payment of the non-refundable $250.00 
certification fee. The fee can be paid online by credit card, debit card, electronic check, or by mailing a paper 
check or money order, made payable to the “New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs,” and addressed to 
the Division of Consumer Affairs, Regulated Business Section, 124 Halsey St., 7th Floor, Newark, NJ 07101. 
 
A temporary help service firm, or other business, that makes DCPs must obtain a surety bond, a copy of which 
must be filed with the Division. The principal sum of the bond shall be $200,000.00 and the bond shall be 
issued by a surety company admitted to do business in the State of New Jersey. The bond shall be in favor of, 
and payable to, the people of the State of New Jersey. Your business may claim an exemption from the 
bond requirement if the temporary laborers are subject to a collective bargaining agreement that complies 
with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 34:8D-8(b). If claiming this exemption, you must provide proof of 
the collective bargaining agreement. 

You must also submit, with your application, proof of the following: 

• The employer account number issued by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development for 
the payment of unemployment insurance contributions; and 

• Valid workers’ compensation insurance covering all employees. 

The registration process can take 30 to 60 days. Incomplete application(s) and/or missing documents will 
further delay this process.




